Thursday, May 8, 2008

Day 127: 12/20/1972 Brighton, England

12/20/1972 Brighton, England Sweet Brummy Roll
Black Dog, Misty Mountain Hop, Since I've Been Loving You, Whole Lotta Love, Heartbreaker

The tape begins with Plant apologizing to the crowd for the delay before introducing Black Dog. Misty Mountain Hop is dedicated to "the Melody Maker and also the Manchester CID." Unfortunately, the tape is cut three minutes into a promising Since I've Been Loving You. We return as Plant is introducing Whole Lotta Love as "something to grind by." The medley includes Boogie Chillen', Elvis Presley's Let's Have a Party, Mystery Train, Heartbreak Hotel, I Can't Quit You Baby, which features an excellent extended guitar solo from Page, and Goin' Down Slow. The show ends with a simple "that's it, farewell" from Plant following a somewhat disjointed Heartbreaker.

The tape is clear and well-balanced.

Click here for an audio sample courtesy of Black Beauty.

No comments: